Brief Introduction to the Eight Sections of the Great Wall near Beijing

Print PDF

Brief Introduction to the Eight Sections of the Great Wall near Beijing

You are on the page of Absolute Beijing Great Wall. The Great Wall snaking across Beijing in its northern part is about 600 kilometers long. Along the total length of the great wall around Beijing, there are major eight sections including Badaling, Juyongguan, Huanghuacheng, Jiankou, Mutianyu, Gubeikou, Jinshanling, and Simatai. Most of the sections of Great Wall in Beijing are well-preserved and mainly the remains from the Ming Dynasty, an era of huge construction. All the eight sections of the Great Wall in Beijing have their own unique features. For more information on the Great Wall around Beijing, please contact our Beijing Great Wall trip advisors.

Beijing Badaling Great Wall
The Badaling section of Great Wall is about 3, 740 meters long and averagely 8 meters high. The highest section is 15 meters high. The wall is wide enough for five horses to ride abreast. Badaling was the earliest part open to the visitors among all the sections of the Great Wall in Beijing.

Beijing Juyongguan Great Wall
It was a very important strategic area linking the inner land and the area close to the northern border of China. The Juyongguan Pass has been well known for its strategic importance for over 2,000 years.

Beijing Huanghuacheng Great Wall
Huanghuacheng ( literally meaning "Yellow Flower City" ) Great Wall, about 60 km north of downtown Beijing, is one of the most ruined sections of the wall in Beijing.

Beijing Jiankou Great Wall
Jiankou Great Wall is the most dangerous and ruined section of the great wall around Beijing. There are four must-to-see attractions along the section of Jiankou Great Wall.

Beijing Mutianyu Wall
The Mutianyu area to visit the wall as it is less crowded than Badaling. There are three ways to head up and down beside hiking on foot. One is the cable car, the other is a slideaway (toboggan) and the other is a chair lift.

Beijing Gubeikou Wall
Gubeikou has long been a town of military importance and a vital passage to the capital city. The Yanshan Range goes from east to west and is divided at Gubeikou, constituting a natural narrow pass here.

Beijing Jinshanling Wall
Jinshanling Great Wall is located about 130 km from downtown Beijing. To its east stands the Simatai Great Wall. Jinshangling Great Wall was named after the mountain called Jinshan Mountains.

Beijing Simatai Wall
The wall at Simatai has received very little renovation. So Simatai Great Wall still retains all its original look. It is well beyond the reach of the great crowds of visitors that come to the more popular and easily accessible parts of the Wall.